Central govenrment gives administrative approval for 12 nuclear power reactors

The central government has given administrative approval and financial sanction for the construction of 12 nuclear power reactors in the country. Of these, 10 will be indigenous pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWRs), which will be set up in fleet mode, while the remaining two will be light water reactors (LWRs), which will be built in cooperation with the Russian Federation. Further, two PHWRs each will be set up in the states of Madhya Pradesh, Haryana and Karnataka, while four will be set up in Rajasthan. The two LWRs will be deployed in Kudankulam, Tamil Nadu.


Enter your email address