Government proposes to shut 32 units that do not meet emission deadlines

The central government has identified 32 units across 12 thermal power plants aggregating to 5,019 MW which will have to be shut down as they have not submitted any plan to adhere to the prescribed emission control norms.

These units are over 20 years old and a majority of them are run by state governments, while some are operated by central government-owned Damodar Valley Corporation (Bokaro and Durgapur) and CESC Limited (Titagarh).


Enter your email address

Share your work e-mail and access a free 3 month digital subscription to Power Line Magazine