Andhra Pradesh to set up seven hydro pumped storage plants

The Andhra Pradesh government has decided to set up pumped hydro storage power projects (PSP) of 6.3 GW capacity to promote new renewable energy power plants in the state.

The government has identified seven locations to set up PSP plants. These are namely, Gandikota (Kadapa), Chitravati (Ananthapuram), Somasila (Nellore), Owk (Kurnool), Kurukutti, Karrivalasa (Vizianagaram) and Yerravaram (Visakhapatnam). The PSP mode is likely to balance fluctuations in total input power from the existing renewable energy plants depending on solar and wind power stations. PSP projects will act as largescale energy storage stations.



Enter your email address

Share your work e-mail and access a free 3 month digital subscription to Power Line Magazine