DERC turns down discoms’ request to relinquish 98 MW power allocation

The Delhi Electricity Regulatory Commission (DERC) has turned down city discoms’ request to allow them to relinquish 98 MW of power allocation from three generation plants of NTPC Limited.

Last year, the three discoms, BSES Rajdhani Power Limited (BRPL), BSES Yamuna Power Limited (BYPL) and Tata Power Delhi Distribution Limited (TPDDL), through Delhi government had sought reallocation of 98 MW of power from NTPC power plants- Kahalgaon-I (51 MW), Farakka (23 MW) and Unchahar -I (24 MW). The request was turned down by DERC considering the lower cost and their contribution in meeting the existing demand.