Tamil Nadu government inaugurates 14 substations and lays foundation for eight more substations

Tamil Nadu government has inaugurated 14 new substations set up by Tamil Nadu Generation and Distribution Corporation Limited in different districts, apart  from the 57 existing substations where old transformers have been replaced with new ones of higher capacity.

The new substations set up at Rs 3.73 billion are located on Millers Road, Kannammapet, Vadapalani and Kodambakkam in Chennai, Anakaputhur in Chengalpattu district and in parts of Tiruvallur and Kancheepuram districts. New transformers with additional capacity have been installed in 57 existing substations across the state at a cost of Rs 915.7 million. The government has also laid foundation stones for another eight new substations to be set up in Karur, Cuddalore, Ariyalur and Thanjavur districts at a cost of Rs 1.30 billion.