India  to build nuclear plants in fleet mode

The government of India is planning to develop ten nuclear power plant stations in fleet mode over the next three years.

The first pour of concrete (FPC)of Kaiga units 5 and 6 is expected in 2023; FPC of Gorakhpur Haryana Anu Vidyut Pariyojana units 3 and 4 and Mahi Banswara Rajasthan Atomic Power Projects units 1 to 4 is expected in 2024; and that of Chutka Madhya Pradesh Atomic Power Project units 1and 2 in 2025. According to the reports, the nuclear power plants will be built over a five-year period from the FPC. India currently operates 22 nuclear reactors with a total capacity of over 6.7 GW.